Skip to content

Where oh where has the Stunt Dog Guy been?

March 3, 2010

Hi everyone! It’s been quite some time since I have posted on my blog.  You might be wondering where I have been the past few months? Well after living full time on the road in my RV for two years, I finally found a new place to call home. I bought a two acre ranch last April in Northern California. My tour ended last October and I’ve been busy getting settled into my new place. My new property has two homes on it and will serve as a sanctuary and training facility for my dogs.  My parents moved into the larger home along with my elderly grandfather (he is 85 years old) who has dementia after suffering from a few strokes. We were able to move him out of his convalescent home and my parents are caring for him full time.

After I finished my nationwide season tour last October I decided to help out my good friend Matt Strawn and his three kids (Samantha, Seth, and Sydney). Matt and I have known each other since high school and have stayed in good contact over the years. My last fair of the season was the State Fair of Virginia and on my way back to California I was able to pick them up. They are now living with me temporarily. Matt had been working and living in Rockford, IL for over 10 years. However, last year he was laid off.  He has been wanting to find a way back home to California for quite a long time. I couldn’t think of a better way than to pick him up in my doggie-bound RV as we headed west on our trip home!

At the end of Janurary, I adopted a new dog from the Yolo County Animal Shelter in Dixon, CA. Her name is Confetti. She is a little (22 lb.) one year old Australian Cattle Dog/Papillon mix.  She is a bundle of fun with lots of energy. You can see in the above picture (photo by Matthew Strawn) she is already catching discs and jumping off my knee. She is definitely going to be my next stunt dog star!

Last month was a really tough one for me as I lost another original Extreme Canine; Soaring Sierra. The original team of performing dogs was what I’d like to call the “fantastic four”. They were in order of adoption: Extreme Pepper, Soaring Sierra, Jumping Jaz, and Air Ripley. They were the original “Extreme Canine Stunt Dogs” for the first three years of the production (1999-2001).  I lost the first of the four with the passing of Jumping Jaz in May 2007; she died from a grand maul seizure. Next Air Ripley passed from spinal cancer just this past December 2009. Now I regret to say that Soaring Sierra has also crossed over to the rainbow bridge.

My facebook post on Febraury 9th, 2010:

Today I lost my daughter…. Soaring Sierra (7-2-98 to 2-9-10) was a champion and a pet star! I will forever cherish having her in my life for the almost 12 years I spent loving her. She absolutely loved life and was the most happy, go lucky girl I’ve ever had. When you would ask her what kind of fun she was having; it was …always “Wooo woo woo” which was transelated to “Dog Gone Fun”. She was my miracle dog: https://stuntdog.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/soaring-sierra-my-miracle-dog/

I will be dedicating this season to both Air Ripley and Soaring Sierra. They were both champions and they have left a mark on my heart that will remain forever. The original star, Extreme Pepper; the one who started it all is still with me. He current sits under my desk taking a nap. Pepper is the last of an era, but the message will continue on. That message is that dogs from pounds and shelters can be the best dogs in the world! The myth that you must buy a purebred or get a dog from a breeder in order to get a great dog is completely untrue.

Keep in eye on my blog everyone as the adventure has just begun! SUBSCRIBE NOW BY E-MAIL ON THE TOP RIGHT OF MY BLOG!

Coming soon: Embedded video blogs, training tips galore, behind the scenes on preparing for our biggest season yet, our adventures traveling the U.S. all summer long, media and TV interviews, and much more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 5:54 pm

    Dogs are the best and humans have everything to learn from them. Sorry about Soaring Sierra, but I like the thought of the rainbow bridge, that is where my girl Sage is.

  2. sam permalink
    March 3, 2010 6:42 pm

    ok. you REALLY have to change that dogs name. and its PAPILLON not PAVILLION. duh! 😉 shes cute.

  3. grufti222 permalink
    March 9, 2010 11:51 am

    This really moved me.

    You and your dogs rock!

  4. March 10, 2010 6:31 pm

    Thanks! Glad to hear it. Keep in touch. Be sure you subscribe to my blog for e-mail updates. 😉

Leave a Reply

