Skip to content

Police stop the show in Virginia

October 2, 2009
In search for a lost child

In search for a lost child

The fur was flying, the dogs were in motion and then out of the corner of my eye I saw four state troopers motioning for me to stop the show. For a split second a few thoughts flew into my mind, “Did I forget to pay a speeding ticket? What did I do wrong? Or did something happen backstage while the show was going on?” I wasn’t quite sure, but I immediately excused myself from the audience in a professional manner. If I was going down, I was going down with dignity!

I walked over to speak with the officer in charge and it appeared we had a missing child out there. The rush of relief that it wasn’t me they were after quickly dissipated with the urge to be a hero and help find that child. I jumped back on the microphone asking for everyone’s attention. The boy was a young 6 year old who went missing in the area. I described him to the audience while I stopped the show. We then proceeded to finish performing. After the show concluded another officer approached me on the field (see above photograph). It appeared they found the child and his brother, but now the parents were missing. I made one final announcement and shortly later the parents were reunited with their kids.

State Fair of VA 2009

State Fair of Virginia 2009

Sometimes in live entertainment the unexpected can happen. I was able to handle this one very professional. It is rewarding to help in situations like this; situations that matter the most. This instance reminded me of the time I pulled over on the highway to help an elderly couple out of their car that just flipped upside down in the median. Luckily they only had minor cuts and bruises as they were wearing their seat belts. However, since I was the first person on the scene it was all about not over reacting and being calm. It appeared they fell asleep at the wheel and flipped their car in the process. I talked them through it, assuring them everything was going to be okay. I helped them out of their car with the assistance of other passerby’s that also stopped to help. It felt good knowing I was able to help someone in their greatest time of need!

We have three days left here at the State Fair of Virginia. The new fairground location in Doswell, Virginia is awesome! Our performance area is near the entrance tunnel, located on the top of the hill in the agricultural area right next to the Old McDonald’s Farm. We are running three shows daily, so you can catch our cool dogs at 11:00 am, 2:00 pm, and 5:30 pm. Kids come early for a chance at starring in show and being turned into a stunt dog! This is my last state fair of the season. I’ll be headed home soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alycia permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:11 pm

    Yay chris for helping find the little kid…see ur just not a dog person your a people person too. Yay clap clap clap

  2. Sue Mullins Ramsey permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:48 am

    Woof! Keep in touch and please provide more details on Branson. GREAT to see you although too brief. “Paws” for some fun and relaxation when you can. Take care. Sue

  3. October 13, 2009 1:00 pm

    Thank you Sue! It was great to see you and yes I wish we could have had more time to chat. Maybe next year?! I just made it back home to California. I’m looking forward to some R&R as I was on the road since June. I hope to see you again next year or maybe in Vegas! Have a great day!

    Chris

Leave a Reply

