Skip to content

My stunt dogs appeared on Oprah Winfrey

March 9, 2009

030909jackson_20080826_350x263My dogs appeared on the Oprah Winfrey Show on August 26th, 2008. A production manager from Harpo Studios called me in August last year.  They had caught word of my stunt dogs performing across the country and wanted to discuss a possible appearance on the Oprah Winfrey Show. I was honored to be given the opportunity to appear on the #1 day time talk show. The request was for their follow up  puppy mill episode. In 2007, Oprah ran an episode bringing awareness to Americans about puppy mills and the horror stories behind them. This episode was a follow up to see what had happened with all the dogs saved from the puppy mills from the previous year. Harpo Studios was also introducing a new set for the Oprah Winfrey Show and this episode was going to be the first time using the new set.

After many talks on the phone, they decided on having Action Jackson come to do his “paw stand” and Flashy Ferrari to jump rope. It was very exciting to bring my two newest stars.  This was Ferrari’s first time appearing on national television.  When I was first contacted they just wanted one dog for the episode.  However, after seeing the talents of my dogs they decided they wanted more than one!

030909ferrari_oprah_350x263The set was designed in a way where each dog would come out from a different hallway. Therefore, I wasn’t able to perform with both dogs due to the logistics of television. I decided I would perform with Action Jackson and have my assistant handler run Flashy Ferrari. We were scheduled to perform our tricks at the top of the hour. First up was a very talented dog and handler from Sweden, who performed a dog dancing routine. Next out was Flashy Ferrari with my assistant trainer named Jessica Ritchie. They did a few tricks, then Jessica handed one end of the rope to Oprah.  Ferrari proceeded to jump rope between them as they turned it under her.  Oprah was amazed and seemed to be elated helping Ferrari do her trick!  Action Jackson was called out last. His little ears flopped as he jogged onto the set. After a dozen rehearsals that morning and the day before, he knew exactly where he was supposed to go. Jackson was the little show stopper and finale. His “paw stand” had Oprah’s mouth wide open as she couldn’t believe her eyes. Both of my dogs performed flawlessly. I was so proud them!

The hour long episode was full of surprises as my new friend Jesse and her dog Maggie showed off her amazing “paw tapping” counting ability. Maggie counts, adds, and subtracts by tapping her paw.  They also had guest appearances with the puppy mill rescue, a two legged dog, along with the worlds tiniest dog.  It was a full episode dedicated to dogs and we had the honor of kicking it off!

Jackson and Ferrari in the Limo after the show

Jackson and Ferrari in the limousine after the show with their gift bags from Oprah.

SAD FACT: The jump rope Flashy Ferrari used on the Oprah Winfrey Show was stolen on Saturday March 7th, 2009 from the North Carolina State Fairgrounds. I left it on the ground outside my RV for only a few minutes. I was inside giving my dogs water after a very productive training session. When I went back outside to pick up my flying discs and rope I noticed it was gone. Someone in the nearby parking lot must have ran over and grabbed it while I was inside taking care of my dogs. This was also a very special jump rope to me because it was the last rope Jumping Jaz used in a show.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 1:49 pm

    your performing at the north carolina state fair? with who? hows it goin? that blows that someone took your rope 😦 people are mean 😦

  2. Becca Martin permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:28 pm

    So sad about the jump rope…but the picture in the limo? Priceless. My dogs want to know if they can ride in a limo…and I said “Practice, practice, practice.” I guess they have to settle for me as a driver for now.

  3. March 10, 2009 3:43 pm

    I’m sure they don’t mind… unless you are one of those crazy taxi cab style drivers of course. lol 😉

  4. October 8, 2010 8:44 pm

    I actually met Jessica Ritchie while I was the makeup artist for a wedding she was in this summer in New England. I was SO fascinated by her credentials and about her appearing Oprah and I just happened to find this article while searching for that episode. Does she still work with you? How exciting, a great opportunity to be on the show and gain exposure to just how wonderful, amazing creatures these dogs are. Good luck with future endeavors, and if you ever need a makeup artist,….I’m yours! lol. 🙂

    PS: so sorry someone would be so terrible as to steal your jump rope. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

