Skip to content

40% of U.S. dog owners don’t do this!

March 6, 2009

030609_img_1837So the question is: Do you pick up after your dog when you walk them in public?

Did you know that we as Americans own more than 74 million dogs. Four out of 10 U.S. households now have at least one dog, according to the American Pet Products Manufacturers Association. That is a lot of dogs, and that is a lot of poop. This would not matter if everyone just regularly picked up after their dogs. Several studies have shown that about 40 percent of dog owners in the U.S. admit they do not pick up after their dog when it poops away from their own property.

I know it’s a chore picking up when you take them on a walk or hike. But if I can pick up after all my dogs while traveling across the country, you can pick up after yours too. I know its a hassle to carry baggies around with you, but I’ve found the cheapest and easiest bags to use. The great news is, you can buy them at your local Wal-Mart or grocery store. I have a paper towel style roller in my RV that contains these baggies at all times. I always pick up after my dogs in public places and my motto is, “No poop left behind”!

So next time you are out walking your “one” dog, remember I have to pick up after my six dogs at least two times a day while on the road. I did some calculations for last year — I picked up over 3,000 poops! Ummm yeah… that puts things into perspective. I swear someone should take stock in these baggies as I’m looking to adopt a seventh dog here soon.

The bottom line is: If you care about the environment and care about your dogs freedom, please clean up after your dog!

Cost effective poop baggies found at Wal-Mart.

Cost effective poop baggies found at Wal-Mart.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. envisionhope permalink
    March 6, 2009 4:16 pm

    I believe the 40% because I’ve seen it on my own front yard. People walking their dogs will let them wander up into the yard, let them do their business, and then nonchalantly walk away.

    I’m with you. I pick up my dog’s waste when we’re walking. It is the courtesy I seek from others.

  2. March 7, 2009 2:13 am

    i love how it says “fits tight, to keep FOOD fresh”….YUM, chris. Just YUM.

  3. June 5, 2012 4:37 pm

    I am doing research on this. Can you tell me the studies you cited that state 40% don’t pick up after their dogs. I see this quoted often, but never see the source. Thanks so much, Allison

Leave a Reply

