Skip to content

Jumping Jaz: My first jump rope dog

February 25, 2009
Jumping Jaz (1998 - 2007)

Jumping Jaz (1998 - 2007)

In 1998 I adopted a sweet loving dog named Colleen through a rescue organization in Sacramento, CA.  She was about 10 months old when I brought her home. She loved to jump and bounce around the yard like a bunny. So I renamed her “Jumping Jaz”. She was ball obsessed and was super motivated to play.  I used this motivation to positively train her to do tricks, run agility, and catch Frisbees.

When it was dinner time, Jaz would jump in her kennel straight up and down. Over and over again, she would hop and hop. Then one night I thought to myself, “Hmmmm, I bet I could teach her to jump rope.” So I started training her with the use of a clicker. I marked the behavior while giving a voice command and hand signal. Over time Jaz would jump on cue right in front of me. Later, I introduced the rope thus starter her career as my first jump rope dog.

The inspiration for the Extreme Canines Stunt Dog Show logo was designed in her image. Jaz was an amazing trick dog! She performed and jumped rope in over 2000 live shows in her career, including stage shows at Dolly Partons theme park Dollywood and World’s of Fun in Kansas City, MO. You could catch her in the local newspaper at almost every event produced.  She was also featured in Dogs for Kids magazine along with the rest of the pack in December 2006.

At around six years old, Jaz had her first seizure. This was very difficult for me to see as I’d never been through anything like this before.  She fought seizures for about three years. At the beginning of 2007 she started to have them more frequently. I had this sick feeling inside that she was going to have one and not come out.  They always happened in her sleep so they didn’t effect her while performing. My worst fear came true on an early morning in June of 2007.  She had a grand maul seizure and was rushed to the emergency vet. She passed away later that day and it broke my heart. I will never forget the little Mcnab/Cattle dog mix named “Jumping Jaz” who offered the first trick dog routine in my show, inspired my logo, put smiles on faces all over the country, and captivated my heart. Her paws were the ones responsible for turning my show into a real act!

Original Logo inspired by Jaz

Original Logo inspired by Jaz

Dollywood Kids Fest 2004

Dollywood Kids Fest 2004

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 12:08 am

    at worlds of fun the first year out there with you guys, i remember all the other dogs would run crazy backstage. But i remembered a few times when, in all the craziness goin on back there, jumping jaz jumping up into my lap between shows for a cuddle. an ORIGINAL extreme canine, it was her that inspired me to teach tess the very same trick.

    i will never forget her.

  2. February 26, 2009 1:32 pm

    Thank you Sam! 😉

  3. May 2, 2009 8:07 am

    how can i teach my dog to jump rope she is a collie/alfsation

  4. August 22, 2010 8:49 pm

    How old was Jaz when she passed? That must have been shocking to loose your companion. On January 17, 2010 my family and I lost our first dog, Alex, due to bloat, he was a 7-year-old german shepherd/lab mix.

Trackbacks

  1. Doggie Juggling (Photo) « The Stunt Dog Experience TM
  2. My stunt dogs appeared on Oprah Winfrey « The Stunt Dog Experience TM

Leave a Reply

